25 Bakes Till Christmas

Day 1: Gingerbread House

I started off with one of the most time staking bakes. I used this recipe that I found on Buzzfeeds Tasty. It is a great recipe to create a sturdy structure. The cookie itself is a bit too hard to eat and the icing is very structural sound, but made with egg whites, so not ideal of eating. There is a video to go along with it, which i found helpful.

Some tips in this recipe that I loved :

  1. Keep the dough warm until you are ready to use it.
  2. Cut out the windows and doors, but don’t pull them out. This will keep the lines crisp.
  3. Add egg-whites to the icing makes it really strong.
  4. Use cardboard to help hold the roof together.

Click here for the recipe

Day 2: Gingerbread Cookies

Unlike the recipe I used for our gingerbread house this recipe on Food.com is soft and the perfect gingerbread flavor. The recipe calls for it to sit out for 4 hours… But since I’m just starting a very long baking journey I opted to skip that step. Not letting it dry out mean’t I had to add a little extra flour while rolling it out, but other then that, it was perfect.

Click here for recipe

Day 3: Cranberry Pie

This recipe is so delicious. I’m shocked I’ve never had cranberry pie before. It’s not overly sweet and the cream balances out the tartness of the cranberries perfectly. It’s very easy to eat several pieces of this pie…trust me.

The best part of this recipe? It was soooo quick to make. Only about 15 minutes of prep and then 45 minutes to bake. If you need a beautiful centerpiece desert this holiday without a lot of fuss, make this pie.

You can find this cranberry pie recipe on countrylivingcom or CLICK HERE.

One thought on “25 Bakes Till Christmas

Leave a comment