Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

Growing up I remember my grandma feeding us cabbage rolls and pirogies. I didn’t know much about the Ukrainian culture, but these two foods made me proud. 

I soon realized that my grandma was feeding me frozen pirogies – but she had arthritis so I didn’t blame her. However, when I was gifted the only cook book my mom owned “Campbells Cookbook, Cooking with Soup”,  I realized my grandma wasn’t much of a cook with or without the arthritis.  All the traditional recipes my grandma and mom cooked were from this cook book.  The food was still delicious but had none of the traditional aspects I had glorified in my head. 

Never the less I was excited to find the recipe for Cabbage Rolls and even more excited the it wasn’t as daunting as I once thought and instead it was easy,  and delicious. 

There is definitely room for improvements; maybe adding more flavor to the stuffing with mixed veggies or spices. I would also love to try adding a little more flare to the sauce. But until I grow more confident in the kitchen it’s still perfectly wholesome and delicious. 

Watch how I attempt and successfully make cabbage rolls!

Leave a comment